Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Fingers.......a little less skin.....

Login/Join to Participate

redravenstranger
24 posts

Posted:
I am new to Poi and have had no instruction at all, apart from what I read on the leaflet which came with my Poi. I have only been practicing for about an hour over the last few days but have managed to wear away two nice little circles on both 3rd fingers. I'm not really sure how I SHOULD be holding my Poi, but I find that either way (putting both fingers into the loop or one finger into each loop) still hurts!

Anyone have any ideas?

Fankoooo!

Nia

x

Red Raven Wellbeing Centre
9 Clive Street, Caerphilly. CF83 1GE
07757 057 157

UCOFSILVER Member
15,417 posts

Posted:
Best thing to do is to hold the string between your thumb and first finger, much like you would hold a key.

smile

You get much more control that way!

GnorBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
5,814 posts

Posted:
Or hold socks.

Is it the Truth?
Is it Fair to all concerned?
Will it build Goodwill and Better Friendships?
Will it be Beneficial to all concerned?

Im in a lonely battle with the world with a fish to match the chip on my shoulder. Gnu in Binnu in a cnu

Mr ChutneySILVER Member
Tosser
1,712 posts

Posted:
Aaaah memories- the first set of poi i had took all the skin from all my knuckles on all fingers- as ai wore out one set I'd hold them another way and so on until I was out of digits biggrin

Use socks, they'll work so much better for you smile

redravenstranger
24 posts

Posted:
Thanks guys.

Where exactly does old socks come in to it???? Can you explain what exactly you think I should be doing with them?!!?....as opposed to taping them to me head so that my poi bounce off easier.....

biggrin

Thank!!

Nia

07757 057 157

UCOFSILVER Member
15,417 posts

Posted:
biggrin

Goto the nearest market and buy a pair of stripey socks. Should be £1.50 max and there are many, many different colours availalble.